TBD

TBD on Ning

Father's Day is coming right up. Tell us about your Dad. What did he do for a living? What did he do that you will always remember? I am looking for those fond memories...

Views: 52

Replies to This Discussion

he was cool!

Lehigh Chemical Engineer, worked in the paint industry for Dutch Boy / Titanium Pigment.  He loved making the worst (lol) cups and pots, member of a club on Jekyll Island and he loved turning rocks into jewelry on his lapidary set up in the garage.

Don't know a lot about him because my parents divorced when I was 4 or 5. According to the stories my mom told, he was a no good, abusive drunk. I was told the reason my little sister was born with her intestines on the outside was because he had kicked my mother in the stomach when she was pregnant. There are too many stories to tell here, but curiosity made me track him down after I graduated high school, and I spent a couple of days with him. He was living in the same tiny town where they divorced, Cumberland Furnace Tennessee. He had no regular job. Since town was in a dry county, he went to Dickson once a week and loaded his car, (trunk, front and back seats) FULL of beer and booze. Business could happen at any time of the day, but most of it was after dark. There would be some hillbilly banging on his back door hollering JOHNNY!!! He sold beer and booze out the back door for double and triple what he paid for it in Dickson. I asked him why didn't these people go to Dickson and buy their own booze. He looked at me and said, "Well, I guess they're just plain ignorant". He lived with a woman, Roosie, that he said he had gotten from "up in the hills". Roosie had never been inside a school, and when he said jump, she didn't ask how high.